My Name is Michelle-Lynn

Since I was a young child, when I was named Michael, I loved putting on my mommy’s nail polish (purples looked cute on me) I would put on my mommy’s cute wedge heels. I loved the sound of them stomping on a hardwood floor. I felt confident and powerful! I loved the feeling of wearing a dress, the freedom, femininity and comfort. I just wanted to do it more. As a teenager, I thought my days of experimenting with girl’s cloths was over. However, when i was 16, I had a dream I was a woman. I was walking home from school, but I noticed something, instead of my trademark Nike shoes, I have some rocking green heels on! Yay, then I got to my house, my brother answered the door. He was so excited to see me, he picked me up my feet kicking and me giggling. He loved me and took care of me my brother did. He called me his baby sissy. That made me squeee big time.

After I had that dream, I was confused at first, then I thought nothing of it. But, I had it again, and again, and again and again.’ Then I just tried to push those feelings down to the ground. I failed, pushing your feelings down doesn’t make them leave. They came back when I did not realize it, I just was caught off guard. I never took these feelings serious, now I regret not dealing with these feelings. I know how society treats trans people, so i think that had a lot to do with it. I didn’t want to admit that I had these feelings.When I talk to other trans people about coming out, they tell me the same thing. That they started thinking about if they were born in the wrong body, they would have lots of dreams about being the other gender and they would make friends with the other gender easier.

I’m finally coming to grips with the fact that I am a trans woman. It has been a long, hard road, but it was the right decision. I feel so much better and happier. I don’t feel confused anymore, I don’t feel trapped. For the first time ever, I feel right. I feel like I should and I love it.

Now, don’t think that saying you like female cloths makes you a trans ok? No, that means you like women’s clothing,  being a trans is when someone feels like they were born in the wrong body, that they don’t know who they are looking at in the mirror. Being trans means that someone is not going to be happy until they look on the outside how they feel on the inside. It is not a lifestyle, which implies a choice, no, being trans is not a choice, it is who we are.

I have been really scared about coming out, and over time, I am gonna shut down my Michael pages, I am not him, I am Michelle Lynn Tackett. I’m a woman who loves to read, cook, play video games, take care of his girl, brother, and family. I love white and yellow heels and dresses, I love the feeling when my high heels stomp on a hardwood floor. I love being a woman. I have never been happier. I love this feeling! I feel happy, not trapped or like I have to be this way. I am so happy, Michelle Lynn Tackett, trans woman! Ready for society to hear me roar! All my trans brothers and sisters! Hear us roar loudly! We will not go away, stop hurting us, stop killing us! Let us live in peace!

 

Leave a Reply

